Call for applications - Schmidt Science Fellows 2025 cohort

Aktuelles |


Schmidt Science Fellows, in partnership with the Rhodes Trust, seeks to create a new generation of scientific leaders through a combination of a postdoctoral fellowship of $100,000 a year and workshops at some of the world’s leading universities, as well as individualized mentoring.

Fellows are supported to pursue a postdoctoral placement at a world-leading laboratory anywhere in the world in a disciplinary pivot from their doctoral research. During their Fellowship Year, they also participate in a varied and challenging Global Meeting Series that introduces new research ideas, techniques, and questions, in addition to a tailored training program. Fellows benefit from a personalized mentoring program, providing professional development support from experienced and internationally accomplished scientists, and at the completion of the Fellowship Year, join the Senior Fellows community of alumni for ongoing support, interaction, and programming opportunities.

For more information, please have a look at the current call for applications and visit https://schmidtsciencefellows.org/.

In order to be eligible for nomination to the Schmidt Science Fellows application process, candidates must meet the following requirements:

  • Conduct their graduate degree in the natural sciences (Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Earth Sciences), Engineering, Mathematics, or Computing – and all sub-disciplines therein.
  • Expect to complete all of the requirements for the conferral of their doctorate in one of these fields between 15 May 2024 and 30 June 2025.
  • Be able to start the Fellowship in July 2025 or October 2025 and be available from April 2025 to July 2026 to attend onboarding activities, and in-person convenings.
  • Be nominated by a designated official at one of the nominating partner institutions.

Please submit your application documents in one single PDF-file to the TUM Graduate School Management Office via e-mail to janosa@zv.tum.de.

Application documents:

  1. Motivation letter for application (one page) showcasing the candidate's academic achievements, motivations and programmatic fit (refer to to the Schmidt Science Fellows selection criteria);
  2. Curriculum vitae, incl. publications, patents, scientific awards
  3. Summary of the dissertation
  4. Support letter from the doctoral supervisor

The application deadline is 21 April 2024.

Schmidt Science Fellows – Online Session for Prospective Candidates

Session 1 

Date: Monday, 15 April 2024

Time: 10:30 BST / 11:30 CEST / 17:30 SGT / 19:30 AEST / 05:30 EDT / 02:30 PDT

Register here (best suited to audiences in Europe, Africa, Asia, Oceania)

 

Session 2 

Date: Monday,  15 April 2024

Time: 17:00 BST / 18:00 CEST / 00.00 (+1) SGT / 01:00 (+1) AEST / 12:00 EDT / 09:00 PDT

Register here (best suited to audiences in North/ Central/ South America and Europe)